JK News

All arrangements in place for 2nd phase of LS polls tomorrow

  Elaborate arrangements have been made for tomorrow’s second phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Ninety-five constituencies, spread over 11 States and one Union Territory, will go to polls in this phase.

These include  38 constituencies of Tamil Nadu, 14 in Karnataka; 10 in Maharashtra; eight in Uttar Pradesh; five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha; 3 each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal; two in Jammu and Kashmir and one each in Manipur and Puducherry.

Earlier 97 seats were scheduled to go to polls in the second phase. The election to Vellore in Tamil Nadu was cancelled over allegations of excessive use of money power, while election to Tripura (East) has been postponed to the third phase over law and order concerns.

Leave a Reply